Short Notes On Supreme Court of India

0 0 votes
Article Rating
  • The Supreme Court of India is the highest judicial forum in the country and has the final authority to interpret the Constitution of India.

  • The Supreme Court was established on January 28, 1950 and is located in New Delhi.

  • The Supreme Court is composed of a Chief Justice and up to 33 judges, who are appointed by the President of India.

  • The judges of the Supreme Court hold office until they attain the age of 65 years.

  • The Supreme Court has the power to hear appeals from the High Courts of the states and union territories, as well as from the lower courts and tribunals.

  • The Supreme Court has original jurisdiction in matters relating to disputes between the central government and state governments, and between state governments.

  • The Supreme Court has the power to issue writs for the enforcement of fundamental rights and other legal remedies.

  • The Supreme Court is also responsible for the interpretation and enforcement of international treaties and agreements to which India is a party.

  • The Supreme Court has the power to review its own judgments and to hear petitions for the review of judgments delivered by other courts.

  • The decisions of the Supreme Court are binding on all courts in India and are considered to be the law of the land.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x