Kundalini- 13angle.com


  • Kundalini is a form of divine feminine energy. It is located on the base of the spine. It is derived from a Sanskrit word that means coiled snake. It is believed to be the energy we are born with. It helps us to connect with the divine energy. It is a concept associated with the shiva tantra. It is believed that once, kundalini awakens our lives change for the better. once, it awakens, it shifts through the six chakras throughout our bodies. Kundalini was introduced in the west by Yogi Bhajan in the United States.

History of Kundalini

  • Kundalini is a practice that connects our physical world with spirituality. The first mention of chakras is from the Upanishads and is said to originate between 1500 to 500 BC. It was originally thought as of philosophy. Before that, the knowledge of Chakras was passed down from generation to generation orally. It is believed that kundalini yoga was started in Sikh society. However, it is found that kundalini has its roots way back in the prehistoric times of Egyptians, Tibetans, and even the Chinese. The knowledge of Kundalini was guarded with secrecy for many centuries. For many centuries, the knowledge of Kundalini was passed from a master to a disciple after years of vigorous training. There are mentions of Kundalini in the Bible where it is described as the “Solar principle in Man”. Kundalini Yoga originated from Raj Yoga. Kundalini was introduced in the west by Yogi Bhajan in the United States in 1968. His intention of teaching was “healthy, happy and holy.” He started this yoga by fusing two traditions.

The Different Chakras

The different chakras- 13angle.com
  • The Muladhara Chakra is situated at the base of our spine. It helps to stabilize our bodies and reduces stress. It is situated in the base of our spine and is considered the origin of the kundalini. It is linked with the earth element.

  • Suvadhishthana Chakra is situated above our Muladhara Chakra in front of our body. It is linked to the reproductory parts of our body.

  • Manipura Chakra is located behind the navel at the solar plexus region. It is the center of willpower. It is linked to the power of fire.

  • Anahata Chakra is described as the small flow inside our hearts. It helps us make choices outside of karma.

  • Vishuddha Chakra is the purification center of our body. It is associated with higher creativity. It has the power to convert negative thoughts into motivation and positivity.

  • Ajna Chakra is considered the third eye of intelligence. It is related to the pineal gland of our body.

Significance Of Chakras

  • Chakras are said to provide energy to various organs to make them work at their 100% level. It helps in releasing blocked emotional energy. It helps us making mentally balanced. It helps us achieve the stage of “easiness”. Also helps in self-awareness regarding our bodies.

How To Practice Kundalini

  • First, choose a comfortable to sit
  • Decide the clothing (usually, it is advisable to wear something light-coloured)
  • Decide the timings
  • Choose your mantra
  • Focus on the breathing

The Advantages Of Kundalini Mediation

  • Helps in concentration.

  • Provides balance to mind and soul.

  • Reduces anxiety.

  • Improves sleep cycle.

  • Improves mental health.

  • Helps in breathing.

  • Creates awareness about our bodies.


Root Chakra


Sacral Chakra


Naval Chakra


Heart Chakra


Throat Chakra


Third eye Chakra


Crown Chakra


1. Vrikshasana First stand straight and then join your palms in a prayer position and stretch it upwards. Place the sole of your right foot on the interior of your left thigh. Stay in that position if you can.

Vrikshasana- 13angle.com

2. Deviasana Stand straight with 3 feet distance between your soles. Keeping your feet out, bend your knees over your ankles in a squatting position. Then bend your elbows at shoulder height and face palms towards each other. Look straight ahead. Hold this position if you can.

Deviasana- 13angle.com

3. Navasana Lie on your back while joining your feet together and arms beside your body. Exhale and lift your chest and feet off the ground. Try to keep your eyes, fingers and toes in one line. Try to maintain this posture as long as you can.

Navasana- 13angle.com

4. Sethubandhasana Lie flat on your back. Bend your knees and elbows. Place your feet flat on the ground and your hands on either side of the head.  Try to lift your body up in the air. Try to maintain this posture for as long as you can.

Sethubandhasana- 13angle.com

5. Ustrasana Kneel on the ground. Keep your hands on your hips, ensuring that knees and shoulders are aligned in a straight manner. Then, bend your back, gripping your feet with your hands for balance. Try to hold this posture for as long as you can.

6. Sukhasana Do the normal mediation posture. Grab your wrist with your right hand from behind. Inhale while pulling your shoulders and expanding the chest. Then exhale and try to touch right your right forehead to your right knee. Try to maintain the posture if possible and then continue the same thing with your left knee.

Sukhasana- 13angle.com

7. Shavasana Lie down and close your eyes. Breathe normally and relax. After doing it for 10-15 mins, open your eyes and stand up. 

Shavasana- 13angle.com

The Disadvantages Of Kundalini

  • There are a lot of advantages of kundalini as stated above but there are also some disadvantages some people who aren’t fully ready for this awakening and try to do it might suffer some long-term problems. People have claimed that some temporary discomfort is initially there while trying kundalini.

Chakra And Gods



















Chakra And Colour Linked To It

Chakra and Colour linked to it- 13angle.com

Famous Books Were Written On Kundalini

  • Kundalini Tantra by Swami Satyananda Saraswati

  • Taming the Kundalini by Swami Satyananda Saraswati

  • Kundalini: The Arousal of Inner Energy by Ajit Mukherjee

  • The psychology of Kundalini Yoga by C.G. Jung

  • Ancient Secrets of Kundalini by Gopi Krishna

  • Kundalini the untold story by Om Swami

Top 13 Interesting Facts About Kundalini

  1. Chakra are focal points of energy.

  2. There are approximately 114 chakras in our body.

  3. There is no evidence that chakras exist in our bodies.

  4. First time we learned about chakras is in Upanishads.

  5. Each chakra has its own intuition.

  6. Chakra is a Sanskrit word that means wheel.

  7. Cleansing is an important part of chakras.

  8. Many therapists have stated that chakras can be used for therapy.

  9. The chakras originated between 1500-500 B.C.

  10. In Buddhism there are four primary chakras.

  11. In Hinduism there are seven primary chakras.

  12. People wear white while doing kundalini yoga.

  13. Lord Ganesha is linked with Kundalini.

Adrija Saha